Independent Advisory Group

PDH’s Independent Advisory Group provides a variety of perspectives on our research activities and projects, including views of consumer, industry, Māori, Pacific, clinical, and academic experts. The IAG recommends the research portfolio and projects to the board.

Professor Gregor Coster


Professor Gregor Coster is the inaugural Dean of the Faculty of Health at Victoria University of Wellington. Prof Coster is the Chairman of Worksafe NZ and a Board Member of ACC.

Dr Allan Moffitt

Clinical Director, ProCare Health

Dr Allan Moffitt is a GP working at The Fono, Manurewa and also Clinical Director at ProCare, NZ’s largest PHO. He has an extensive history in primary care at all levels including nationally. Allan is a member of the NZ institute of Directors.

Andrew Sporle

University of Auckland

Andrew has expertise in official data innovations and teaches in Statistics at the University of Auckland. He is also a founding member of Te Mana Rauranga, the Māori Data Sovereignty network.

Dr Helen Lunt

Clinical Director, Health Innovation Hub, Canterbury DHB

Helen is also an active researcher, undertaking clinical trials in diabetes/metabolism.

Jon Herries

Ministry of Health

Jon Herries is the Group Manager, Emerging Health Technologies at the New Zealand Ministry of Health.

Dr Judy Blakey

Consumer Health Advisor

Dr Judy Blakey, MNZM, is the Chairperson of the Mairangi Arts Centre’s Board of Trustees. Judy is an advocate for consumer perspectives within the NZ health system.

Scott Arrol

CEO, New Zealand Health IT

Scott has broad commercial, business development and governance experience in the New Zealand health sector.

Prof Shaun Hendy

University of Auckland

Prof Shaun Hendy, FRSNZ, is Professor of Physics and Director of Te Pūnaha Matatini, a Centre of Research Excellence. Shaun is a Board Member at Callaghan Innovation.